Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Polaris Gala Performers Revealed, Grand Jury Announced

· by Aaron Brophy

The performers have been announced for the 8th annual Polaris Gala.

The event, happening on Monday, September 23 at The Carlu in downtown Toronto, has confirmed performances from the following Short List nominees:

Zaki Ibrahim
Purity Ring
A Tribe Called Red
Young Galaxy

Additionally, Colin Stetson recently sustained a hand injury but hopes to be healed in time to perform.

You can see these acts perform — and (potentially) win a $30,000 giant novelty cheque — by scoring tickets through Ticketfly.

This year's hosts will be previous Polaris Music Prize nominees Kathleen Edwards and Shad. The entire event will be aired live on AUX TV and SiriusXM (The Verge XM 173 and The Iceberg Sirius 161) beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

Some presenters have also been confirmed. They include Giller Prize winning author Joseph Boyden, author and critic Jessica Hopper, and musician and past nominee Bry Webb. The remaining presenters will be revealed leading up to the Gala.

This year's Grand Jury has also been announced. Grand Jury members are chosen from a larger jury of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers. The 11 member Grand Jury will be sequestered in a room at the Carlu on the evening of the Gala to debate and decide the winner.

This year's Grand Jury members are:

Alan Cross (Indie 88.1)
Kat Dornian (CJSW)
Katherine Duncan (CBC)
Stuart Henderson (Pop Matters)
Jenny Henkelman (CKUW)
Ryan McNutt (freelance journalist)
Sean Michaels (Said The Gramophone)
Ian Steaman (Different Kitchen)
James Tennant (CFMU)
Phil Villeneuve (Xtra)
Andrea Warner (freelance journalist)


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.