Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Ladies and Gentleman, the 2009 Short List

· by

Steve Jordan, Founder and Executive Director of the Polaris Music Prize, today revealed the Short List of 10 Canadian albums eligible for the fourth annual $20,000 award.

The 10 nominees are, in alphabetical order:

Elliott BROOD – Mountain Meadows
(Toronto, ON)

Fucked Up – The Chemistry Of Common Life
(Toronto, ON)

Great Lake Swimmers – Lost Channels
(Toronto, ON)

Hey Rosetta! – Into Your Lungs (and around in your heart and on through your blood)
(St. John's, NF)

K'NAAN – Troubadour
(Toronto, ON)

Malajube – Labyrinthes
(Montréal, QC)

Metric – Fantasies
(Toronto, ON)

Joel Plaskett – Three
(Halifax, NS)

Chad VanGaalen – Soft Airplane
(Calgary, AB)

Patrick Watson – Wooden Arms
(Montréal, QC)

“If there's a common thread to these records, it's that each artist built on previous successes by pushing themselves into even riskier artistic dimensions. Listeners will find the jury picked quite an ambitious crop this year. This is exactly the kind of artistry that Polaris aims to support,†said Jordan.

For the first time in Polaris history there are repeat nominees on the Short List. K'NAAN, Malajube and Metric also made the cut in 2006, and Plaskett, VanGaalen and Patrick Watson made it in 2007. In another first, there are no debut albums on the Short List.

A jury of 182 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada submitted their top five picks for best Canadian album released between June 1, 2008 and May 31, 2009.

These picks were narrowed down to a Long List of 40 which was made public June 15, 2009.

Jordan was also excited to reveal a new location and television 
partner for the 2009 Polaris Music Prize gala. The invite-only event 
is moving to The Concert Hall at the legendary Masonic Temple in 
 Toronto on September 21, 2009. In addition to the live 
broadcast on SIRIUS Satellite Radio channel 86, the show will be 
webcast live on and produced for broadcast by 
MuchMusic. Broadcast dates will be announced soon.

 “The Polaris Music Prize is a celebration of amazing Canadian music 
and that is exactly what MuchMusic has always been about,†said Brad 
Schwartz, Senior Vice-President and General Manager, The Much MTV Group, CTV Inc.. “We're excited to bring this event to the famous Concert 
Hall that has hosted performances by the biggest names in music, past 
and present. The history of this iconic venue makes it 
the perfect location to honour these incredible musicians and their 

11 members of the jury will be specially selected to convene and determine the 2009 winner on location that night.

Previous Polaris winners are Toronto's Final Fantasy with He Poos Clouds in 2006, Montréal's Patrick Watson with Close To Paradise in 2007 and Caribou's Andorra in 2008.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.