Countdown to Gala
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize 2015 Jury Revealed

Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

The jury for the 2015 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize has been revealed.

Here they are:

Michael Barclay
Mike Bell
Denise Benson
Rob Bowman
Laurie Brown
Alain Brunet
Stephen Cooke
Evelyne Côté
David Dacks
Mary Dickie
Tom Harrison
Dalton Higgins
Nicholas Jennings
James Keast
Liisa Ladouceur
Pierre Landry
Bob Mackowicz
David Marsden
Bob Mersereau
Sean Michaels
Sipreano (Kevin Howes)
John Sakamoto
Nicolas Tittley
Michael Williams
Jill Wilson

Comprised of 25 veteran Canadian music authorities, the 2015 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize jury includes Polaris Music Prize jurors past and present as well as authors, broadcasters, programmers and curators who have a deep historical knowledge of this nation’s music scene. The jury has been tasked with creating a Short List of five albums from each of four distinct musical eras:

* ’60s & ’70s
* ’80s
* ’90s
* ’00s (2000-2005)

On September 18 we’ll reveal the 20 albums nominated across the four eras and open the floodgates for the first-ever public vote to determine the 2015 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize winners. The voting will take place on the Polaris Music Prize website and the winners from these votes will be announced on October 9. Much like the way the Baseball Hall Of Fame works, albums that don’t win this year will still be eligible in future votes.

The programming team at Roy Thomson / Massey Hall will then produce a tribute concert to the four winning albums of the Slaight Family Heritage Prize winners at some point in early 2016.  Winners will receive a special trophy at the tribute show. Commemorative prints of each winning album will also be made available for purchase to the public.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.