Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



2020 Polaris Short List Is Here

· by

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, has unveiled the 10 albums on the 2020 Short List.

The 2020 Polaris Music Prize Short List is:

Backxwash – God Has Nothing To Do With This Leave Him Out Of It
Caribou – Suddenly
Junia-T – Studio Monk
Kaytranada – Bubba
nêhiyawak – nipiy
Pantayo – Pantayo
Lido Pimienta – Miss Colombia
Jessie Reyez – Before Love Came To Kill Us
U.S. Girls – Heavy Light
Witch Prophet – DNA Activation

“Canadian music has a vast and vibrant spectrum. This year’s Short List features a blend of exciting emerging voices and celebrated Polaris Prize winners. Now and forever, thank you to our jury for devoting their time and energy to crafting this list and continuing to champion the music of Canadian artists. I’d like to invite everyone to carve out some time to settle in with each of these very deserving albums. You’ll be glad you did,” said Polaris jury foreperson Melissa Vincent.

The new nominees were revealed during a Polaris Prize Short List radio special which aired earlier today across Canada via CBC Music and the CBC Listen app. Hosted by CBC Music’s Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe, the special featured music from the Short List nominees as well as in-depth interviews with CBC personalities and Polaris jurors.

Polaris will be celebrating the Short List with a special cinematic tribute happening October 19 to be broadcast in Canada on the CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter and YouTube pages and around the globe at The 2020 Polaris-winning album will be revealed live at the end of this event.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2020 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Albums eligible for 2020 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2019 and May 31, 2020. An independent jury of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury will select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The past winners are Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.