Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Debby Friday Has Won The 2023 Polaris Music Prize For The Album ‘Good Luck’

Debby Friday has won the 2023 Polaris Music Prize for the album Good Luck.

This is Debby Friday’s first Polaris Music Prize win.

The Prize, which was presented by CBC Music, goes to the best Canadian album of the year based on artistic merit without regard to genre, sales history or label affiliation. It was determined by a Grand Jury of 11 music media professionals drawn from the greater Polaris jury pool of 205 music media and selecters from across the country. This was the 18th edition of the Polaris Music Prize.

Debby Friday’s victory came with a $50,000 monetary reward courtesy of Slaight Music.

The 2023 Polaris Short List was:

Alvvays – Blue Rev
Aysanabee – Watin
Begonia – Powder Blue
Daniel Caesar – Never Enough
Feist – Multitudes
Debby Friday – Good Luck
Gayance – Masquerade
Dan Mangan – Being Somewhere
The Sadies – Colder Streams
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – I’m Good, HBU?

Debby Friday’s name was revealed by Polaris 2022 winner Pierre Kwenders, capping a night of musical performances at the Polaris Gala. The gala, which was held at Massey Hall in Toronto, Ontario, also featured sets from Short List nominees Aysanabee, Begonia, Debby Friday, Gayance, Dan Mangan, The Sadies, and Snotty Nose Rez Kids. Members of Alvvays were also in attendance. Feist and Daniel Caesar were unavailable due to touring commitments.

Follow Polaris Music Prize’s social accounts and CBC Music’s Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and TikTok feeds for clips of the Polaris Music Prize 2023 winner and moments from throughout the night. Highlights from The Polaris Music Prize will air on CBC Music Live on Friday, September 22 at 2 p.m. (2:30 NT) on CBC Radio One and CBC Listen and Monday, September 25 at 6 p.m. (6:30 NT) on CBC Music and CBC Listen.

The Grand Jury who decided the winner included Kelsey Adams (CBC Music), Joëlle Bertrand (Amazon Music Canada), Ryan Bresee (CKCU), Jamaias DaCosta (Deejay Jams), Ona-Lee Demong (CFCR), Mike Devlin (Victoria Times Colonist), Sarah Erasmus (Cabin Radio), Marie-Ève Fortin-Laferrière (Freelance Writer), Mitch Pollock (Q with Tom Power), Laura Stanley (Freelance Journalist) and Adam White (Some Party).

“To be a fly on the wall during the Polaris Music Prize Grand Jury discussion is to witness a gathering of brilliant minds collaborating on what constitutes artistic merit through an impassioned and thoughtful conversation. It is an unmatched experience,” said Melissa Vincent, Polaris Jury Foreperson. “Major congratulations to our winner Debby Friday, and to all of the spectacular artists nominated this year. The act of making music in our current economic ecosystem is a labour of love that comes at a cost — if you have the opportunity, I invite you to consider supporting the work of the artists on this year’s Long List and Short List.”

The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours and rewards artists who produce Canadian music albums of distinction. A select panel of music critics judge and award the Prize without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity. The Polaris Music Prize awards an annual prize of $50,000 to the selected winner thanks to Slaight Music.

Albums eligible for 2023 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2022 and May 1, 2023. An independent jury of music media from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convenes at the Polaris Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The past winners are Pierre Kwenders (2022), Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

We acknowledge the financial support of FACTOR, the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.