Supported By

Ontario Media Development Corporation

Supported By




About The Heritage Prize

Back to Heritage Prize Main Page


The Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize honours Canadian albums of the past from four distinct time periods: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05. Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are albums of the artistic distinction, without regards to sales or affiliations.

Think of the Heritage Prize as our version of a hall of fame where we try to determine who would have been nominated or won the Prize in the years before it started in 2006.

How it works is an 11 person group of Canadian music media and historians gather together each year to create a vote-curated list of 10 Short List-nominated albums per era. Two albums per era, one chosen by public vote and one chosen by the jury of critics, will be designated as Heritage Prize winners each year.

2018 Key Dates

Stay tuned.


The 2017 Heritage Prize jury is:
Karen Bliss
Dalton Higgins
Nick Jennings
Pierre Landry
Francois Marchand
Bob Mersereau
Ben Rayner
John Sakamoto
Valerie Therrien
Jill Wilson
Lisa Wilton

Mary Dickie is this jury’s foreperson.

Heritage Prize Posters

Heritage Prize designated albums are commemorated with limited edition silk-screen posters commissioned by visual artists who’ve been inspired by these records.

A small number of these Heritage Prize posters are made available for public sale each year. View these posters.

This website is made possible with the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation.

Ontario Media Development Corporation

Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.