Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Voting Is Now Open

If you’ve ever wanted to live the life of a Polaris juror, now’s the time. That’s because the voting for the 2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize is now open.

The Heritage Prize honours Canadian albums of the past from four distinct time periods: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05. Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are albums of the artistic distinction, without regards to sales or affiliations.

This is our version of a hall of fame where we try to determine who would have been nominated or won the Prize in the years before Polaris started in 2006.

Once again there’ll be eight winning albums declared this year, two per era — one voted on by the public and one voted on by the specially assembled Heritage Prize jury.

Go HERE to vote. Voters will be able to submit ballots once per day.

Voting closes October 18 at 11:59 p.m. ET and we’ll be revealing the winning albums on October 23.

This year there are eight new nominated records from Jean-Pierre Ferland, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Stan Rogers, Rush, Daniel Bélanger, Voivod, Sarah Harmer and Kid Koala to replace last year’s winners.

Heritage Prize winners are commemorated with limited-edition artwork commissioned and inspired by the music on these designated albums. Examples of past winners’ works, including those honouring the likes of Neil Young, Harmonium, Sloan and Mary Margaret O’Hara can be found at the Polaris Store.

The 2018 Polaris Heritage Prize is supported by Slaight Music and Re:Sound.

2018 Heritage Prize nominated albums, by era:


The Band – Music From Big Pink
Beau Dommage – Beau Dommage
Robert Charlebois & Louise Forestier – Lindberg
Jean-Pierre Ferland – Jaune NEW!
Joni Mitchell – Court And Spark
Jackie Mittoo – Wishbone
The Oscar Peterson Trio – Night Train
Buffy Sainte-Marie – It’s My Way! NEW!
Jackie Shane – Live
Neil Young – Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere


Bruce Cockburn – Stealing Fire
D.O.A. – Hardcore ’81
Fifth Column – To Sir With Hate
Gowan – Strange Animal
Martha and the Muffins – This is the Ice Age
Jackie Mittoo – Show Case Volume 3
Stan Rogers – Fogarty’s Cove NEW!
Rough Trade – Avoid Freud
Rush – 2112 NEW!
Leroy Sibbles – On Top


Daniel Bélanger – Les insomniaques s’amusent NEW!
Dream Warriors – And Now the Legacy Begins
k.d. lang – Ingénue
Daniel Lanois – Acadie
Maestro Fresh Wes – Symphony In Effect
Main Source – Breaking Atoms
Sarah McLachlan – Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
John Oswald – Plunderphonics
Voivod – Nothingface NEW!


Bran Van 3000 – Glee
Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People
Constantines – Shine A Light
The Dears – No Cities Left
Destroyer – Streethawk: A Seduction
Esthero – Breath from Another
Sarah Harmer – You Were Here NEW!
Kid Koala – Carpal Tunnel Syndrome NEW!
The New Pornographers – Mass Romantic
Weakerthans – Left and Leaving


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.