Countdown to Short List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



2019 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Voting Is Now Open

· by

Voting for the 2019 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize is now open. The Heritage Prize is also supported by Re:Sound.

Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are Canadian albums of the artistic distinction, without regards to sales or affiliations. This is our version of a hall of fame where we try to determine who would have been nominated or won the Prize before Polaris started in 2006.

The best part is that you, the public, get to do the same job as Polaris jurors and vote on which album should receive Heritage Prize designation.

This year there are 12 nominated albums up for consideration:

The Band — Music From Big Pink
Robert Charlebois & Louise Forestier — Lindberg
D.O.A. — Hardcore ’81
Sarah Harmer — You Were Here
k.d. lang — Ingénue
Maestro Fresh Wes — Symphony In Effect
Main Source — Breaking Atoms
Sarah McLachlan — Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
Joni Mitchell — Court And Spark
Stan Rogers — Fogarty’s Cove
Buffy Sainte-Marie — It’s My Way
Weakerthans — Left And Leaving

One Heritage Prize album will be chosen by public vote and a second will be determined by a Heritage Prize jury made up of music media and music historians.

Go HERE to vote.

Voters will be able to submit ballots once per day. Voting closes October 18 at 11:59 p.m. ET and we’ll be revealing the winning albums on October 24.

Heritage Prize winners are commemorated with limited-edition artwork commissioned and inspired by the music on these designated albums. Examples of past winners’ works, including those honouring the likes of Dream Warriors, Gordon Lightfoot and Eric’s Trip can be found HERE.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.