Countdown to Gala
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Gala details revealed! New venue, more live performers and more!

· by

This just in: We can now spill the beans on this year’s Gala, happening September 21 in Toronto where we will crown the $20,000 prize winner.

Some special highlights this year:

New venue, the legendary Masonic Temple, aka The Concert Hall. Music magic has been happening in this building for decades, so we’re stoked that MTV Canada is letting us into their fabulous digs for our party.

Live performances by all 10 short listed artists! For the first time ever the scheduling stars aligned and we’ll have Elliott BROOD, Fucked Up, Great Lake Swimmers, Hey Rosetta!, K'NAAN, Malajube, Metric, Joel Plaskett, Chad VanGaalen and Patrick Watson all on stage. It’s going to be a great night of live music.

Once again, the Gala will be hosted by Grant Lawrence of CBC Radio 3. In addition, original poster art awards will be presented to each short listed artist by members of the Polaris Jury, including Jian Ghomeshi (CBC Radio's Q), Alan Cross (Explore Music, The Ongoing History Of New Music), Johnny Hockin (MTV Canada), Matt Wells (MuchMoreMusic) and author Rob Bowman.

Stay tuned for further news about how you can win tickets, watch/listen at home, and exclusive insight into the secret lives of our Grand Jury.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.