Countdown to Short List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Gala details!

· by

We announced some gala details! Here they are.

DATE: September 20, 2010 at 8pm ET
LISTEN: In North America on SIRIUS Satellite Radio channel 152 and in the world on CBC Radio 3.
WATCH: Live on and MuchMusic Saturday September 25 at 9pm and midnight ET.
WHERE: CTV's Concert Hall studios at Toronto's Masonic Temple.

We've got all ten, again! For the second year in a row the gala will feature performances by all of the 10 Short Listed artists. They are The Besnard Lakes, Broken Social Scene, Caribou, Karkwa, Dan Mangan, Owen Pallett, Radio Radio, The Sadies, Shad, and Tegan And Sara.

The gala will be hosted by CBC Radio 3's Grant Lawrence and MuchMusic's Sarah Taylor.

The Grand Jury are Rob Bowman (York University), Jenny Charlesworth (The Georgia Straight), Leah Collins (, Del Cowie (Exclaim!), Jonathan Dekel (Spinner), Amanda Farrell (Monday Magazine), Jian Ghomeshi (CBC – Q), Marc Xavier Leblanc (freelance journalist and DJ), Francois Marchand (Vancouver Sun), Andre Peloquin (Bang Bang) and Phillippe Rezzonico (Rue Frontenac). They will be sequestered deep inside the Masonic Temple during the gala to decide who wins the $20,000 at the end of the night They are selected from the 182 member-Polaris Jury.

This year's gala presenters were also announced. They are members of the Polaris jury and include Alan Cross (Explore Music, The Ongoing History Of New Music), Johnny Hockin (MTV Canada), Carl Wilson (Globe and Mail), and Nick Jennings (This Beat Goes On).

Previous Polaris Music Prize winners have been Toronto's Fucked Up for The Chemistry of Common Life in 2009, Dundas' Caribou for Andorra (2008), Montréal's Patrick Watson for Close To Paradise (2007) and Toronto's Final Fantasy for He Poos Clouds (2006). Damian Abraham from Fucked Up will be on hand to crown the 2010 winner.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.