Countdown to Gala
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Performers Announced For The 2022 Polaris Music Prize Gala

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, has revealed the performer list for the 2022 Polaris Gala, taking place September 19 at The Carlu in Toronto, Ontario. Hosted by CBC Music’s Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe, the Polaris Gala will also be live-streamed on CBC Gem, CBC Music’s Facebook, YouTube and Twitter pages and globally at at 8 p.m. ET. General admission tickets to the gala are on sale right now via Ticketmaster.

Polaris has confirmed the following acts will take the stage at this year’s marquee winner reveal event:

Pierre Kwenders
Lisa Leblanc
Hubert Lenoir
Kelly McMichael
Snotty Nose Rez Kids
Charlotte Day Wilson

Additional performances will include Fresh Pepper interpreting Destroyer as well as 2021 Polaris Music Prize winner Cadence Weapon. The performance list was drawn from the 10 nominated albums that make up the 2022 Polaris Music Prize Short List. Lineup subject to change.

The 17th Polaris Music Prize-winning album will be determined at this year’s gala following performances by the 2022 nominees. CBC Music’s Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe will host the Polaris Gala.

Polaris plans to create a magical night for the return of its signature live event for the first time since 2019. Taking place once again at the historic Carlu, the night will kick off with the first-ever Official Gala Opening Reception presented by FACTOR. The reception will be an opportunity for Canada’s music industry to come together to connect and celebrate together before the nominee performances. Inspired by the mysterious music of Canada’s natural landscape, The Carlu will be transformed into a large-scale light and sound installation by creative director Daniel Tal using creative 4D floral designs from Alex McLeod as well as installations from local artists Odessa Dobbie, Graham Teeple and Lauren Pirie, all produced by Vox Future. The official #Polaris2022 After-Party presented by Crown Royal will be hosted on-site in The Carlu’s magnificent Round Room immediately following this year’s winner announcement.

CBC Music will continue its in-depth editorial coverage in the lead-up to the Polaris Gala. As part of its massive Short List Summer campaign, this week CBC Music will showcase a Shortlist Shortcuts piece with Pierre Kwenders and will air the final two episodes of The Ten spotlight radio series — The Ten: Charlotte Day Wilson and The Ten: Destroyer — on September 11 and September 18, respectively, via CBC Music and CBC Listen. Other archived episodes of The Ten are available on-demand here.

The Polaris Gala will cap a busy three months in the Polaris universe. Polaris released its 40 nominee album Long List on June 14 before narrowing down that to the 10 contender Short List on July 14. The Polaris Music Prize 2022 Poster Launch & Exhibition, a month-long gallery takeover at Underscore Projects (1486 Dundas Street West, Toronto) will start on Sept. 8. This exhibition will showcase Polaris’ vast archive of silkscreen art posters inspired by the many Polaris nominees. The Polaris Gala will also mark the official reveal of the 12 albums being considered for the 2022 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize. The Heritage Prize is Polaris’ hall of fame-minded critics prize/public polling campaign meant to celebrate Canadian albums of the past.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. The nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2022 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music. Additionally, Polaris Music Prize has partnered with Play MPE to award the winning artist with a global music promotion distribution package for one release (single or album) worth up to $3,025 CAD. Play MPE will also gift all nine remaining Short List artists with distribution packages worth up to $1,000 CAD each.

Albums eligible for 2022 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between May 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022. An independent jury of music media from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convenes at the Polaris Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The past winners are Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

We acknowledge the financial support of FACTOR, the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund) and of Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.