Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Polaris Gala Performers and Grand Jury Announced

· by Aaron Brophy

The performers and the Grand Jury members for the 7th annual Polaris Music Prize Gala were announced earlier today by Steve Jordan, the Founder and Executive Director of the Polaris Music Prize.

Taking place on September 24 at the Concert Hall Studios at Bell Media’s Masonic Temple, the evening will include performances by Short List nominees Cadence Weapon, Cold Specks, Kathleen Edwards, Feist, Fucked Up, Grimes and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN. Nominees Handsome Furs will also be in attendance. Japandroids, who are on tour in Europe, have sent their regrets. As of press time, Drake has not committed to attending. Members of Arcade Fire will also be there to announce this year’s winner.

The entire event will stream live on and will be broadcast live exclusively on SiriusXM radio (Sirius channels 151 and 152; XM channel 151) and CBC Radio 3. At the end of the evening, the winner will be announced and awarded the $30,000 prize. Nine secondary prizes of $2,000 will be provided by Slaight Music. The winner will also get a one week free rental of a VIP Deluxe Splitter tour bus — for their next European tour — courtesy of Studio Moves from London, UK. Highlights from the gala will air in a one-hour special, exclusively on MuchMusic, on Saturday, September 29 at 10 p.m. ET.

On the night of the gala, a Grand Jury of 11 people will be sequestered upstairs in the Red Room of The Masonic Temple to discuss, debate and determine a winner. The Grand Jury is chosen from the larger jury of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers. This year’s Grand Jury is:

Gregory Adams (Georgia Straight)
Michael Barclay (Maclean’s, Radio Free Canuckistan)
Chris Bilton (The Grid)
Ryan Bresee (CKCU 93.1fm)
Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio 1)
Shawn Conner (The Snipe News)
Melissa Hetu (TFO)
Kevin Laforest (Freelance, ex-Hour)
Ryan B. Patrick (Freelance)
Tabassum Siddiqui (Freelance)
Nicole Villeneuve (AUX TV).

Past winners of the Polaris Music Prize are:
Arcade Fire (2011)
Karkwa (2010)
Fucked Up (2009)
Caribou (2008)
Patrick Watson (2007)
Final Fantasy (2006)

The 2012 Polaris Music Prize Short List is (in alphabetical order):

Cadence Weapon – Hope In Dirt City
Cold Specks – I Predict A Graceful Expulsion
Drake – Take Care
Kathleen Edwards – Voyageur
Feist – Metals
Fucked Up – David Comes To Life
Grimes – Visions
Handsome Furs – Sound Kapital
Japandroids – Celebration Rock

Once again guests will gorge on custom grilled cheese and perogies by Shanghai Cowgirl.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.