Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Polaris Music Prize 2013 Long List Is Here

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List has been announced.

Hosted by SiriusXM‘s Andréanne Sasseville the 40 Long List albums were unveiled earlier today at the Phi Centre in Old Montreal.

2006 Polaris Music Prize winner Owen Pallett (Final Fantasy), 2009 Short Listers Radio Radio, Laurel Spengelmeyer of 2011 Long Listers Little Scream and Ruby Attwood from 2012 Short Listers Yamantaka // Sonic Titan were also on hand to reveal the Long List. The celebration also included a live performance by Les soeurs Boulay, one of this year’s first-time nominees.

“This year’s Long List is all over the map, but in the best possible way,” said Steve Jordan, Polaris Founder and Executive Director. “A lot of our jury expressed that this was the most difficult Polaris ballot they’ve ever submitted. The results of this careful and passionate deliberation will make for some truly engaging listening for music lovers.”

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir
ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak
The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO
Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage
Mac DeMarco – 2
Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk
Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II
Jim Guthrie – Takes Time
Hayden – Us Alone
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
KEN mode – Entrench
Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues
Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox
Pierre Lapointe – Punkt
Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner
Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis
Corb Lund – Cabin Fever
The Luyas – Animator
Majical Cloudz – Impersonator
Metric – Synthetica
Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me
AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets
Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse
Purity Ring – Shrines
Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead
Rhye – Woman
Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Suuns – Images du futur
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

Of the 40 Long Listed artists, 16 have been nominated in the past for their own work or as major contributors to another act. They are:

A Tribe Called Red  – 2012 Long List
The Besnard Lakes  – 2007 Short List, 2010 Short List
Louis-Jean Cormier  – 2010 Short List, 2008 Long List (both as a member of Karkwa)
Daphni – 2008 Short List, 2010 Short List (both as Caribou)
Hannah Georgas –  2010 Long List
Hayden – 2008 Long List
Lee Harvey Osmond – 2010 Long List, plus a 2012 Long List nom as a member of Blackie And The Rodeo Kings
Corb Lund  – 2008 Long List
The Luyas  – 2011 Long List
Metric – 2006 Short List, 2009 Short List
AC Newman – 2006 Short List, 2008 Long List, 2010 Long List (all as a member of The New Pornographers)
Lindi Ortega  – 2012 Long List
Daniel Romano  – 2011 Long List
Colin Stetson – 2011 Short List
Tegan And Sara  – 2010 Short List, 2008 Long List
Young Galaxy  – 2010 Long List, 2011 Long List

The Long List unveiling was immediately followed by a knock down, drag-out Polaris Salon in the same venue featuring jurors Sasseville, TFO‘s Melissa Hetu and La Presse‘s Alain Brunet.

Toronto music critics will get to have their say at the Polaris Salon in Toronto on Wednesday, June 19 at the Soho House. That event will be moderated by Exclaim‘s James Keast and feature that magazine’s Stephen Carlick, Nicole Villeneuve of Aux, freelancer Melody Lau and Bryan Acker of Herohill. To attend send an RSVP to

In the meantime, fans of quality music would do well to check out this weekend’s NorthbyNorthEast music festival happening in Toronto. Current Long Listers Hayden, The Luyas and Majical Cloudz will all be performing across the city. Additionally, Polaris nominees from the past like Braids, Brendan Canning (Broken Social Scene), Coeur de Pirate, D-Sisive, Fucked Up, Imaginary Cities, Shooting Guns, Sloan and Wintersleep will all be getting down. For more information go here.

The Short List will be announced on July 16 at The Drake Hotel in Toronto. The Polaris Gala will be held on September 23 at The Carlu in Toronto.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.