Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Polaris Music Prize 2013 Short List Is Here

· by Aaron Brophy

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Short List was announced today at the Drake Hotel in Toronto, Ontario.

Here is the 2013 Polaris Music Prize Short List:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan And Sara – Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

Polaris Founder and Executive Director Steve Jordan was quick to point out how sonically diverse the List is.

“This moody and exciting list is proof that the ‘Canadian sound’ has no stylistic boundaries. In equal measure we welcome the seven rookies and three repeat nominees to this year’s Short List,” said Jordan.

Metric have become the first act to make the Short List three times (2006, 2009, 2013). Tegan And Sara (2010, 2013) and Colin Stetson (2011, 2013) have now both made the Short List twice. Sixteen other acts have made the Short List twice in Polaris history. A Tribe Called Red, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Zaki Ibrahim, METZ, Purity Ring, Whitehorse and Young Galaxy are making their first appearances on the Short List.

Two-time past Short List nominees Kathleen Edwards and Shad were also revealed as this year’s Gala hosts.

“I’m really thrilled to be part of Canada’s music scene and celebrating the work of our friends and collaborators. Polaris has generously supported me over the years and I’m honoured to have been asked to host. I hope my involvement allows me the chance to become acquainted with the nominees whose music is new to me,” said Edwards.

Shad added, “We’re gonna Hal Johnson and Joanne McLeod this thing hard.”

The Polaris Gala will be held on September 23 at The Carlu in Toronto. A limited number of public balcony seat tickets for the Gala will go on sale through on Monday, July 22. Tickets will be $50. 

The annual call for Short List Nominee Poster designers was also issued today. Interested designers and graphic artists should click on the link below and enter their designs for consideration before the deadline of Friday, July 26, 2013 at 12 p.m. ET. Winning designs will be given a cash honorarium and their poster will be given to the Short List artist at the Gala and sold to the public in limited quantities. You can see past Polaris posters here.

Short List Nominee Poster Design Submissions

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.