Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



The Gala! Who's playing? Who's hosting? Who's judging?

· by Polaris Music Prize

Short Listers performing live at the 6th annual gala this year will be Ron Sexsmith, Galaxie, Hey Rosetta!, Austra, Braids, and Timber Timbre. Arcade Fire are not performing, but members of the band will be in the house. Colin Stetson, Destroyer, and The Weeknd have sent their regrets; Colin is performing with Bon Iver in L.A. that night.

At the end of the big show, we announce the winner of the $30,000 Polaris Music Prize.

Those kissin’ brothers from different mothers, CBC Radio 3’s Grant Lawrence, and MuchMusic’s Damian Abraham, are our hosts. You may know Damian from his other job – lead singer for 2009 winners F***ed Up.

Polaris has also picked the 2011 Grand Jury – selected from the 213 member-Polaris jury, they will decide this year’s winner that very night. They are: Karen Bliss (Billboard), Elaine Corden (Yukon, North of Ordinary), Emilie Côté (La Presse), Tom Coxworth (CKUA), David Dacks (CIUT), Mike Devlin (Times Colonist), Yuani Fragata (Bande à part), Anupa Mistry (freelance), Graham Rockingham (The Hamilton Spectator), Gregg Stewart (The Much MTV Group) and Anna Zee (Q104). We wish them all the wisdom they can muster to make what is sure to be a cruelly difficult decision.

Read this space, or connect on FB or Twitter for lots more news in the coming days, including:

• The big commemorative print reveal!
• The Short List split seven-inchers with 4 Golden Tickets to the gala!
• The rdio Polaris Record Club!
• The HP and MusiCounts screening party!
• The MusiCounts Polaris auction, featuring trips for 2 to the gala courtesy of Flight Centre, signed prints and more.
• The next Polaris Salon!


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.