Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



2019 Polaris Music Prize Long List To Be Unveiled In Winnipeg

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music, will be coming to Winnipeg, Manitoba for the reveal of the 2019 Long List. Presented by the Canada Council for the Arts, the announcement of the 40 titles that comprise the Long List will take place on Thursday, June 20 at the Oodena Celebration Circle at The Forks at 11 am CT (noon ET, 9 am PT) and will be live streamed on the Polaris Music Prize Facebook page.

Polaris’ visit to Winnipeg continues a tradition of revealing the Long List in locations across Canada. Past locations include Montreal, Vancouver, Calgary, Halifax, Whitehorse and Ottawa. The Long List announcement will also feature a surprise live performance from a newly announce Long List artist. This event is free and open to the public.

That same evening Polaris will be co-presenting an appearance by 2018 Polaris Short List act Snotty Nose Rez Kids with the TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival when they perform at Old Market Square. Ticket information can be found here.

In conjunction with Polaris, Manitoba Music will be hosting a panel, Making Noise in the Media, taking place 6-7:30 p.m,. June 20, at Manitoba Music headquarters (1-376 Donald Street). For more info and to register, please visit here.

To commemorate the Polaris Winnipeg events, a curated selection of Polaris Posters will be on display throughout the summer in the second floor lounge at The Forks Market (1 Forks Market Road). See more Polaris Posters here.

The Polaris Music Prize will announce the 10 album Short List on July 16. The winner will be determined at the Polaris Gala on Monday, September 16 at The Carlu in Toronto.

“Winnipeg is undoubtedly one of the music capitals of Canada. With a long history of artistic excellence and a diverse and vibrant music and arts scene, from Neil to the Weakerthans to Imaginary Cities, it just makes sense for us to launch this year’s list in Winnipeg. We are humbled and honoured to be announcing this list where the Red and Assiniboine meet and where thousands of years of music culture are in the air and the soil,” said Steve Jordan, Polaris Prize Founder and Executive Director.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. Additionally, the nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2019 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Albums eligible for 2019 Polaris Music Prize consideration must be released between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019. An independent jury of music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convene on the night of the Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

Past winners have included Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.