Countdown to Short List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Performers Announced For Polaris 2016 Gala, Grand Jury Revealed

The 2016 Polaris Short List

The 2016 Polaris Short List

The performers have been announced for the 2016 Polaris Music Prize Gala taking place September 19 at The Carlu in Toronto.

They include:

Black Mountain
Basia Bulat
Carly Rae Jepsen
Jessy Lanza
Andy Shauf
U.S. Girls
White Lung

Grimes and Kaytranada will be attending. PUP are not able to come as they are playing in Austria that night.

Limited public tickets are on sale now via

Polaris also announced who will be on the Grand Jury to determine this year’s best Canadian album, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales.

They are:

Adrien Begrand (freelance)
Lisa Christiansen (CBC Radio One – Vancouver)
Del Cowie (CBC Music)
Howard Druckman (SOCAN Words & Music)
Lana Gay (Indie 88)
Carla Gillis (NOW Magazine)
Andrew King (Canadian Musician)
Lisa Lagace (Turn The Record Over)
Trevor Risk (Ion Magazine)
Joni Sadler (CKUT)
Fateema Sayani (Ottawa Magazine).

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Each of the nine other Short-Listed artists will receive $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music.

The Polaris Music Prize Gala is presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media.


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.