Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA



Vote For Your Favourite Polaris Heritage Prize Album

The voting for the 2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize is now open.

The Heritage Prize honours Canadian albums of the past from four distinct time periods: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05. Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are albums of the artistic distinction, without regards to sales or affiliations.

This is our version of a hall of fame where we try to determine who would have been nominated or won the Prize in the years before Polaris started in 2006.

Once again there’ll be eight winning albums declared this year, two per era — one voted on by the public and one voted on by the specially assembled Heritage Prize jury.

Go HERE to vote.

Voting closes October 19 and we’ll be revealing the winning albums on October 24.

This year there are eight new nominated records from Beau Dommage, Jackie Mittoo, Gowan, Harmonium, Eric’s Trip, k.d. lang, The New Pornographers and The Weakerthans to replace last year’s winners.

The 2017 Polaris Heritage Prize is supported by Slaight Music and Re:Sound.

2017 Heritage Prize nominated albums, by era:


The Band – Music From Big Pink
The Band – The Band
Beau Dommage – Beau Dommage NEW!
Robert Charlebois & Louise Forestier – Lindberg
Gordon Lightfoot – Lightfoot!
Joni Mitchell – Court And Spark
Jackie Mittoo – Wishbone NEW!
The Oscar Peterson Trio – Night Train
Jackie Shane – Live
Neil Young – Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere


Bruce Cockburn – Stealing Fire
D.O.A. – Hardcore ’81
Fifth Column – To Sir With Hate
Glenn Gould – Bach: The Goldberg Variations
Gowan – Strange Animal NEW!
Harmonium – L’Heptade NEW!
Martha and the Muffins – This is the Ice Age
Jackie Mittoo – Show Case Volume 3
Rough Trade – Avoid Freud
Leroy Sibbles – On Top


Dream Warriors – And Now the Legacy Begins
Eric’s Trip – Love Tara NEW!
k.d. lang – Ingénue NEW!
Daniel Lanois – Acadie
Maestro Fresh Wes – Symphony In Effect
Main Source – Breaking Atoms
Sarah McLachlan – Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill
John Oswald – Plunderphonics
The Tragically Hip – Fully Completely


Bran Van 3000 – Glee
Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People
Constantines – Shine A Light
The Dears – No Cities Left
Destroyer – Streethawk: A Seduction
Esthero – Breath from Another
Feist – Let It Die
k-os – Joyful Rebellion
New Pornographers – Mass Romantic NEW!
Weakerthans – Left and Leaving NEW!


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.