Countdown to Long List
Long List / Jun 11
Short List / Jul 11
Polaris Gala / Sep 17
Heritage Prize / Oct TBA

2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Winners Announced

The Polaris Music Prize, produced by Blue Ant Media, announced the winning albums for the 2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize today. The winners were chosen from four short lists, each representing a different musical era, and were curated by a Heritage Prize jury of music historians and music media. Two winners for each era […]

read post

Vote For Your Favourite Polaris Heritage Prize Album

The voting for the 2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize is now open. The Heritage Prize honours Canadian albums of the past from four distinct time periods: 1960-75, 1976-85, 1986-95 and 1996-05. Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are albums of the artistic distinction, without regards to sales or […]

read post

Lido Pimienta’s ‘La Papessa’ Has Won The 2017 Polaris Music Prize

Lido Pimienta has won the 2017 Polaris Music Prize for the album La Papessa. “Not in English, not in French. But we’re here,” said Pimienta after accepting the award. The Prize, which was presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, goes to the best Canadian album of the year based on artistic […]

read post

The 2017 Longer List Is Here

· by

There’s a lot of good music being made in Canada. We intimately understand this truth because we watch as our individual Polaris jurors unearth musical gems throughout the year and recommends these records to their fellow members. Our cross-country cast of jurors then submits ballots based on these album recommendations to create our 40 album […]

read post

2017 Short List Posters Revealed, Drake Hotel Pop Up Sale and Panel Announced

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, today announced the 10 posters artists for the 2017 Short List. The 2017 Short List Poster Artists: A Tribe Called Red – We Are The Halluci Nation by Jeff Blackburn BADBADNOTGOOD – IV by Studio Tipi Leonard Cohen – You Want […]

read post

Polaris Gala Performers, Grand Jury Announced, Tickets On Sale

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, has announced the performers for the September 18 Polaris Gala at The Carlu in Toronto. They include: Feist Lisa LeBlanc Lido Pimienta Tanya Tagaq Leif Vollebekk Weaves More acts may be announced at a later date. Limited public tickets are on […]

read post

Jurors Riff On 2017 Short List For Polaris Podcast EP.8

In the lead-up to our 2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List reveal, CBC Music assembled a panel of Polaris jurors including Adrian Lee, Jill Krajewski and Chaka Grier to discuss what they thought would make the Short List. Then, once the Short List was announced, those same jurors got together again after the reveal to […]

read post

Hannah Georgas, Les soeurs Boulay, Little Scream On Free Polaris Cover Sessions 10-Inch Record

The Polaris Music Prize is giving away copies of its new 10-inch Polaris Cover Sessions #3 record. The record features Little Scream covering Mary Margaret O’Hara’s “Anew Day,” Hannah Georgas covering Arcade Fire’s “Crown Of Love” and Les soeurs Boulay covering Kate & Anna McGarrigle’s “Complainte pour Ste. Catherine.” The three songs on the 10-inch […]

read post

Little Scream Does Mary Margaret O’Hara’s “Anew Day” For SiriusXM Polaris Cover Session

The Polaris Music Prize, presented by CBC Music and produced by Blue Ant Media, has revealed its third SiriusXM Polaris Cover Session for 2017 featuring Little Scream reinterpreting “Anew Day” from Mary Margaret O’Hara’s 1988 album Miss America. An in-studio performance video of the song is now available via the Polaris Music Prize’s YouTube channel. […]

read post


Stay up to date with the latest in the industry.



Sign Up For Our Annoucement List

By submitting this form, you agree to receive electronic communications from the Polaris Music Prize containing news, updates and promotions regarding the Polaris Music Prize. You may unsubscribe at any time.